Double Springs appoints new council members

Double Springs Mayor Elmo Robinson, center, welcomes new council members Brittney Tucker and Andy McSpadden.

DOUBLE SPRINGS   - After a 15-minute executive session discussing the good name and character of individuals, the Double Springs Town Council took action Monday, April 13, to fill two vacancies--one left by the death of Bill Hawkins, the other by the resignation of Bart Seymour.
Brittney Tucker was named as council replacement for Hawkins, with Andy McSpadden named to Seymour’s seat--both by unanimous votes taken by the council at their regular meeting at the town hall courtroom. Attorney Jeff Mobley had recommended earlier in the meeting for the council to meet in executive session to discuss applicants for the two council seats before decisions were made.
“All of these are good, qualified people you’re looking at,”  Mobley said.
Council member Hobby Walker made a motion for the council to enter executive session with Adam Veal seconding the motion and all voting in favor.
“I certify it is for a purpose for which executive session is appropriate involving good name and character of individuals,” Mobley stated. “There will be no vote while we are in executive session.”
After 15 minutes, the council reconvened with Walker making a motion to come out of executive session, seconded by Tim Cockrell.
Cockrell made a motion to name Tucker to Hawkins’ seat and all voting in favor. Walker made a motion to name McSpadden to Seymour’s seat, and all voted in favor.
“We had six good individuals who put their names forward before the council meeting,” Mayor Elmo Robinson said. “I think the two we picked are good people. I don’t think we could have made a bad choice of any of the six choices we had.
“Over the few years of having a unique council, we all worked together,” Robinson added. “I think these two will be a good addition to it. They will fit in good with us.”


See complete story in the Northwest Alabamian.
Subscribe now!