First responders honored at banquet

First responders receiving awards. See story for names and departments.
HALEYVILLE - First responders were the honorees at an awards banquet held as the city's annual 9-1-1 festival was beginning and also to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the first emergency 9-1-1 call placed in the city. The banquet was held Thursday, May 31 at the Joint Armed Forces Reserve Center on Newburg Road. Award recipients include two awards for officer of the year: Rodney Lewis, Haleyville Police; Deputy Chief Jon Tidwell; Deputy of the Year Jacob Taylor, Winston County Sheriff’s Office; Firemen of the Year: Dean Morgan, Haleyville Fire Department; David Robins, Double Springs Fire Department; Dispatchers of the Year: Ron Alexander, Haleyville Police Department; Lynn Vickery, Winston County Sheriff’s Office, Debbie Tidwell, E-911; Reserve Deputy of the Year: Tim Williams, Winston County Sheriff’s Office; Reserve Officer of the Year: Michael Brown, Double Springs PD; Rescue Squad Member of the Year: Justin Cowens, Haleyville Rescue Squad.

See complete story in the Northwest Alabamian.
Subscribe now!