Addison High's 1970 State Championship Team to be honored Oct. 2 during homecoming festivities

This drawing, done in 1971 by Phil Neel, is a representation of Addison High School's championship season of 1970, listing the names of all the coaches, football players and cheerleaders who were a part of making it happen.

ADDISON - In honor of the 50th anniversary of Addison High School's first official football state championship, the AHS Class of 2021 is going to honor the 1970 players, coaches and cheerleaders during the homecoming pre-game festivities Friday, Oct. 2.  

Members of the 1970 football team and cheerleaders will be allowed to enter the game for free, and will also be honored by coming down to the field.  Please be at the field by 6:15 p.m.  The following persons were members of the 1970 championship football team, and will have their names read during halftime, regardless of attendance for the ceremony:

Football team:  Marcus Oliver, Steve Hayes, Gary Speer, Phillip Alston, James Moore, Jimmy Cox, Alton Preuitt, Danny Crider, Randy Lee, Stann Smothers, Gary Denton, Randy White, Brent Denson, Theo Willingham, Dwayne Wilkins, Darrell Cleghorn, Gary Pigg, Creig Bell, James Brown, Benny Knighten, Anthony Dickerson, Grant Hayes, Danny Cobb, Edward Payne, Dwight Riddle, Dwight Waid, Ricky Thompson, Terry Stallings, Rusty Cox, John Lott, Johnny Racer, Ricky Meigs, Ronnie Asherbranner and Leonard Stallings.

Cheerleaders:  Rhonda Alston, Dee-Retha Wilson, Ginger Southern, Patricia Hicks, Marsha Dollar and Delina Powell.

The Addison Bulldogs were undefeated in 1970, shutting out almost every team they played during the season.  They defeated Susan Moore 15-7 to claim the 1970 Class 2A state title.

Everyone is encouraged to come out and recognize the 1970 football team and cheerleaders on the 50th anniversary of their triumph.



See complete story in the Northwest Alabamian.
Subscribe now!