Qualifying ends for Haleyville Board of Education election

HALEYVILLE - Qualifying ended Tuesday, May 24, at 5 p.m. for the three places on the Haleyville Board of Education that will be up for election July 12.

For Place 2, candidates who qualified are Boo Haughton and Valeria Taylor.  This seat has been open since Barry Burleson resigned last year.

For Place 4, incumbent Kris Burleson will face Brian Vickery.

For Place 5, incumbent Donna Jones is the only one who qualified.


Special election November 9

WINSTON COUNTY - A resolution passed by the Winston County Commission Monday morning, Aug. 9, means renewing five mills of property tax benefiting both Haleyville City and Winston County schools will now go before county voters to decide in a special election Tuesday, Nov. 9.

Polling places prepare for polling pads

Winston County election officials, from left, Sheriff Horace Moore, Probate Judge Sheila Moore and Circuit Clerk and Absentee Elections Manager J.D. Snoddy show the new electronic poll books which will be used for the first time at every county polling site during the Nov. 3 general election.
WINSTON COUNTY - Just as the dust is settling from the Oct. 6, run-off elections after the August municipal elections, plans are already gearing up for the general election on Nov. 3, with voters being introduced to a new method of signing in at the polls.

New poll site for Pebble residents

County officials and residents of the Pebble community gather in the kitchen building of the Pebble Community Center, which will now serve as the new polling site for the community. From l-r: Winston County Commissioner David Cummings, Pebble resident Earl Nicholson, Winston County Probate Judge Sheila Moore, resident and Pebble Community Center board member Carla Waldrep and Margaret Crane.
PEBBLE - A request from residents in the Pebble area to relocate their polling site from the Pebble Volunteer Fire Department to the Pebble Community Center over a year ago is just now coming to fruition after the Winston County Commission’s vote in their regular meeting Monday, Feb. 10.