Candidates for county offices

Pictured here are those who made announcements of their planned candidacy for the March 5, 2024, Republican primary elections as well as State Representative Tim Wadsworth (back right), who was special speaker at the meeting. Back row, from left, J.D. Snoddy, circuit clerk; Heather Tucker, county school superintendent; Greg Densmore, school board, Double Springs district; Jeff Scott, county school superintendent; David Cummings, commission chairman; and Wadsworth. Front row, from left, Winston?County Republican Party Chairman Jerry Mobley; Sheila Moore, probate judge; Randy Lee, school board, Addison district; and Joey Boteler, school board, Lynn district.

DOUBLE SPRINGS - Although the Republican primary election is not until March 5, excitement is already stirring in Winston County after candidates announced their intentions to run in such such key county races as school superintendent, board of education seats and commission chairman at the county Republican Party meeting, Monday night, Aug. 14.

Bear Creek wet/dry election set for November 15

Bear Creek Mayor Rob Taylor announces that town clerk Kay Wiginton, seated right, had verified the signatures turned in on a petition, which means the town can legally can have an election for voters to decide if alcoholic beverages can be sold or distributed in the town limits.
BEAR CREEK - Figures from the last census showed the Town of Bear Creek exceeded 1,000 in population, meaning the town now qualifies - and is preparing for - an election to allow voters to decide if alcoholic beverages can be sold or distributed in the town limits.

Qualifying ends for Haleyville Board of Education election

HALEYVILLE - Qualifying ended Tuesday, May 24, at 5 p.m. for the three places on the Haleyville Board of Education that will be up for election July 12.

For Place 2, candidates who qualified are Boo Haughton and Valeria Taylor.  This seat has been open since Barry Burleson resigned last year.

For Place 4, incumbent Kris Burleson will face Brian Vickery.

For Place 5, incumbent Donna Jones is the only one who qualified.


Special election November 9

WINSTON COUNTY - A resolution passed by the Winston County Commission Monday morning, Aug. 9, means renewing five mills of property tax benefiting both Haleyville City and Winston County schools will now go before county voters to decide in a special election Tuesday, Nov. 9.